

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

South Carolina Real Estate Commission

110 Centerview Dr. • Columbia • SC • 29210
P.O. Box 11847 • Columbia • SC 29211-1847
Phone: 803-896-4400 • Contact.REC@llr.sc.gov • Fax: 803-896-4427
llr.sc.gov/re

Inspection Requirements and Process Overview

Commission Authority to Inspect:

In accordance with S.C. Code §40-57-60(C), the Commission shall conduct periodic inspections of offices of licensees to assist with and ensure compliance with SC Law.

Inspection Requirements:

Broker-in-Charge (BIC) or Property Manager-in-Charge (PMIC) must ensure all records requested by the Inspectors are available at the time of inspection and the inspection form pages 1 and 2 are completed prior to the inspection. Failure to cooperate with an inspector may result in disciplinary action from the Commission. S.C. Code §40-57-710.

Process Overview:

Contact: Inspectors will contact the listed BIC/PMIC of the office to initiate scheduling of an inspection. Three attempts, utilizing three methods of communication to include email, telephone, and/or mail, will be made by the Inspector. If an inspector is not able to schedule an inspection following the third attempt, a certified letter will be mailed to the BIC/PMIC and a complaint will be filed against the BIC/PMIC for noncompliance with S.C. Code §40-57-710(25).

Scheduling: Inspections are to be scheduled during the normal M-F workweek between 8am and 5pm and within 2 calendar weeks of contact. Once scheduled, the inspector will email confirmation of the inspection date, inspection form and appendices, and information and instructions for the inspection.

- The BIC/PMIC is to complete the inspection form and return them to the Inspector within 5 business days. Failure to return completed forms within 5 business days will result in a cancellation and rescheduling of the inspection. Subsequent failure to complete and return forms may result in disciplinary action.
- Out-of-State offices will be required to submit a spreadsheet listing all active and completed listings and properties under management within the previous 5 years in addition to completed inspection forms. Spreadsheet will be provided in the scheduling email confirmation.
- Any requests for rescheduling of inspections should be done at least 2 business days prior to inspection date.

Inspection: Inspection instructions and a copy of the inspection packet will be provided once a date has been confirmed. Out-of-state offices will be required to make available any files/records requested by the Inspector and the BIC/PMIC shall be required to schedule a virtual meeting with the inspector. Upon completion of the inspection, a copy of the finalized report will be provided.

Inspection Results:

- If the office passes inspection, the inspection will be good for three years. When the office is due for reinspection, a member of the Inspection team will reach out to schedule.
- If the office fails inspection but is eligible for reinspection, a reinspection must be conducted within 150 days. An office that fails to pass the second inspection for non-compliance, exceeds 150 days for reinspection, or requires rescheduling of an inspection more than three (3) times may be subject to disciplinary action by the Commission.
- If the office fails the inspection and is ineligible for reinspection, a copy of the report will be made available and the inspector will require copies of all documents pulled during the inspection. A complaint will then be submitted to the Office of Investigation and Enforcement. Nothing in the law prevents correction of the violations following a failed inspection; however, it will not prevent nor stop the complaint submission process.